Abbeyleix in Laois has been named both Ireland’s Tidiest Town and Ireland’s Tidiest Small Town for 2023.

This is the first time the Laois town has been crowned Tidiest Town, having first entered the competition in 1960.

A new award to recognise a towns ” efforts to address vacancy and dereliction in line with the Government’s Town Centre First policy” was introduced for the first time this year.

This award was awarded to Boyle in County Roscommon, Cappoquin in County Waterford and Ballyshannon in County Donegal.

The ceremony for this year’s SuperValu TidyTowns Awards took place yesterday at Croke Park in Dublin and saw 887 towns across the country competing to be honoured.